from The Temiskaming Geneaology Group
The index of births, deaths and marriages from the New Liskeard Speaker (later the Temiskaming Speaker) was a project of the Temiskaming Abitibi Heritage Association, assisted by an "Experience 93" Grant from the Ministry of Culture, Tourism and Recreation. The research was done by Student Researcher, Sally Rogers.
The New Liskeard Speaker, which still exists today as the Temiskaming Speaker, was founded in February of 1906 by father and son team, E.F. and A.E. Stephenson, and was published weekly under these two men until 1938. It was then taken over by C.E. Bond, who established the Temiskaming Printing Company and changed the name of the newspaper to the Temiskaming Speaker.
Besides the Speaker there were several other newspapers in the area. Two of these, the Cobalt Weekly Post and the Haileyburian combined with the Speaker in 1962 and are now known as the Temiskaming Speaker. In the 1970s A. J. Wright took over the Speaker with Don Curry as the editor.
The information in these modest cerelux-bound books has proved valuable to those tracing their origins in the region.
All books 11" x 8.5" in size, with cerelux binding.